BOOK OF THE WEEK: THE MIDWIFE’S SISTER

Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 1.26.06 PM

Millions have fallen in love with Jennifer Worth and her experiences in the East End as chronicled in Call the Midwife but little is known about her life outside this period. Now, in this moving and evocative memoir, Jennifer’s sister, Christine, takes us from their early idyllic years to the cruelty and neglect they suffered after their parents divorced, from Jennifer being forced to leave home at fourteen to their training as nurses.

After leaving nursing Jennifer took up a career in music, her first love, and Christine became a sculptor, but through marriages and children, joy and heartbreak, their lives remained intertwined. Absorbing and emotional, The Midwife’s Sister is testimony to an enduring bond between two extraordinary women.

Fans of My Secret Sister, Jodi Picoult, and Lori Lansens will find The Midwife’s Sister an irresistible story about family, work, hardship, perseverance, and best of al, the special bond between sisters. Christine’s memoir is a beautiful complement to the enduring books that gave birth to the series, and mustn’t be missed. Buy it wherever good books are sold on September 15th.

Pan Macmillan

9781447282648

Biography/Personal Memoirs

September 15, 2015

Paperback, $16.95

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s